Marc Forgione – FORGE

June 12, 2008

Marc Forgione is a good friend of our family. He went to college with my brother Mike and after graduating Marc, my brother and a few other buddies backpacked through Europe (Edgar, Lou, Steve and Jay.) I had to include all their names or I would have gotten an email or 2! They had a memorable few days in Bologna sleeping on my couch and floor and a very interesting experience at the Pronto Soccorco that involved a few stitches for Steve, they also made a stop at my Aunt’s place in Lucerne and another stop in Calabria to visit my grandparents.

Back to Marc: Marc is a top chef in New York City and was most recently the executive chef for the BLT Restaurant Group. He is opening a new restaurant next week called FORGE located at 134 Reade Street in NYC. I’ll post the menu once Marc gives me the ok, which includes a special item direct from my grandparents’ farm in Calabria!

If you’re in the city anytime soon, make sure to stop by FORGE…. I can guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

Here’s Marc and his father Larry Forgione (If you know anything about chefs and restaurants, you might recognize the name) on the Today Show yesterday with Ann Curry. What are they making? Pizza Rustica! My brother the home-chef already chimed in that he should brush some butter on the top to give it a golden brown finish. I’m wondering how he was allowed to make it outside of Easter?? I thought that was against the rules. However, I love the idea! Why limit it to once a year?

P.S. -Does anyone recognize the name Forgione outside of chefs and cooking? ring a bell? A southern Italian saint maybe? that’s right, Padre Pio’s birth name was Francesco Forgione and he happens to be Marc’s great great Uncle.

13 Responses to “Marc Forgione – FORGE”

  1. Cherrye of My Bella Vita Says:

    Very cool, Joe! I wish I was going to NYC so I could try it. I hope you will check it out for us and tell us all about it!

  2. Sally Says:

    Yes, Padre Pio who had the stigmate – I have heard of him.

    Now, it’s a very small world indeed because our neighbours have a son who was born here, but has moved to NY to open a restaurant. I’ll need to ask him if it’s OK before giving any details.

  3. Maryann Says:

    I love pizza rustica in the summertime. Rules? bah!

  4. We Are Never Full Says:

    ohhhh! this is great! i’d love to give it a try when it’s open! keep us posted.

    can i name drop when i’m there?

  5. katerinafiore Says:

    That is delicious! I wish I could go to this restaurant you speak so highly of. Congrats to your friend!!

  6. Frank Says:

    Padre Pio (Forgione) never came to the US but his Father, Grazio Forgione and his brother Michele Forgione migrated here for work almost a century ago. They worked on the Long Island Railroad. You can read about it in “Padre Pio and America,” http://www.sanpadrepio.com
    Frank

  7. Scintilla Says:

    Who hasn’t heard of Padre Pio ?
    Pity that NYC is so far away. My parents were from Calabria too – I’ll be interested in seeing the food item you are talking about !

  8. lorraine@italianfoodies Says:

    How cool Joe, hope it all goes well for him. If I ever make it to NYC it will be on my list. I love pizza rustica any time of the day or year:)

  9. My Mélange Says:

    Well, being that NYC is only 1 1/2 hours by train for me, I will put it at the top of my list next time we are down there 🙂

    And yes…please post the menu!!!!

  10. Barbara Gallo Farrell Says:

    My Mom used to make huge pans of pizza rustica at Easter – and you’re right, why wait for once a year to enjoy it! It looks divine.

    What a nice segment for Father’s Day — cooking with Dad — Bella!

  11. Desi Says:

    Oh yessss, when I read the last name I immediately thought about Padre Pio 😛
    Your entries are always great, I’m happy to know you better thanks to them.
    Let’s keep in touch, have a nice time, ciao!

  12. Desi Says:

    Ohh and you know..I have far roots in Calabria too 😉

  13. Johnny Tomatoes Says:

    I’m with Maryann- no rules on this one. We used to have it for Christmas time, Easter, and any other time Mom felt like making it. I haven’t made it myself in a while; I usually get it from Pastosa when I put in my order for a holiday shipping from Brooklyn. Looks great and is really making me hungry.. again

    Thanks Joe

    Johnny T


Leave a comment