Day of the Pig

March 11, 2008

If you ever get the chance to experience “the day of the pig” in Italy (mostly southern Italy), I would highly recommend it. It’s not officially called “the day of the pig,” I actually just made that up but many Southern Italian families, my nonni and zii included, will raise a pig each year for one purpose……to make sopressata, salsiccia and capicola. For families that take part in this yearly process it’s like a holiday. Families get together, eat, drink and make their sopressata, capicola and salsiccia for the year. A bit of advice though, the first part, the part between when the pig is alive and then NOT alive… is not for the squeamish, so if you do get to experience this process I would recommend starting after that part.


Here in the States we don’t have the space to raise a pig, not to mention the neighbors may find it a bit odd but it doesn’t stop us from making these Italian specialties each year. Every winter, we carve out a weekend when we’re all available to help because as my dad says with his thick Italian accent… “no work, no eat!” and nobody wants that! This past Saturday, we all went to my parent’s house to make our salumi and all the delicious recipes that go along with it. As usual, we ate too much and had our share of homemade vino but it’s all part of the experience and I wouldn’t want to miss it. My brother and I have really tried to step it up in the last few years knowing full well that if we don’t learn how to make all these traditional Italian foods that we’ve grown up with, we may not be able to enjoy them someday. Here are a few pictures from, “the day of the pig.” I will have more details on the process itself on Italyville.com when it launches….. it’s coming, I promise!!

15 Responses to “Day of the Pig”

  1. Maryann Says:

    Everything looks delicious! You are very smart to learn these things now. Then you can pass them down to your own family. I wish my boys would take more interest in the recipes. They mean so much to me and will remind them of who we are. Nice post 🙂

  2. 'A Tuscan view.....from Umbria' Says:

    I love all this sausage stuff, your dad, what a guy. This is such a great post, made up of all the things that families should be about. Can’t remember the last time I found a sausage this moving. Can I say that?

  3. homebody at heart Says:

    I like your dad, he’s got it right! And you’re right to start learning now. Sometimes, my sisters and I have to have collective meetings to figure out how my mom made stuff.

    But, where I live people do raise pigs, so I can’t wait to see your recipes!

  4. Meg Says:

    That looks fantastic. I love those long coils of sausage when they’re grilled. And it sounds like a pretty fantastic way to while away a day with family.

  5. Scila Says:

    Hi Joe, the correct italian words r: Soppressata, Salsiccia (sing.)/Salsicce (plu.) and Capicollo. Nice blog!

  6. rowena Says:

    The only proper thing to do after reading a post like this is to eat “una fetta di sopressata, oppure due” and make sure you have a glass of red along with it. I did. Thanks for influencing me enough to take a break from the pc!

    As per Scila’s remark on the spelling…I had to laugh because I always thought that soppressata was spelled with a single P. Blame it on the north for not getting that one right because that’s what is written here on the label — Sopressata Calabria DOP. Ooops!

  7. joe@italyville.com Says:

    Thanks for all the comments… I think it’s so important to pass these recipes down from generation to generation as well as the Italian language. I hope to do the same someday… of course it’s easier said than done:)
    Scila – spelling was never my strong point (in any language) so I looked into it and I don’t agree with one of your spellings. I think Sopressata is correct although both Sopresatta and Soppressata are commonly used. I think you’re correct on Capicollo although there are various spellings that are commonly used: Capicola, Capicollo, Capocollo among others. The one that makes the most sense would be Capocollo (as it would be capo (sing.) and collo (sing.) That could be a whole post! a presto e buon appetito.

  8. Scila Says:

    Well Joe and Rowena (I luv ur blog too Rubbah Slippah in Italy 😛 ), I correct the spelling for 2 good reasons in my opinion:
    1) I’m italian I’m pretty sure I know my own native language 🙂 but I agree there r many different regional ways to spell a word expecially related to food.
    2) I don’t like when italian words r mispelled like: capucino;capuccino instead od cappuccino; linguini instead of linguine; foccacia:focacia instead of focaccia. It’s part of my culture so for me is important that’s it.
    Speaking of language I hope my english is not too bad 🙂
    e buon maiale a tutti!!!

  9. joe@italyville.com Says:

    I agree Scila as well as pronunciation (I hate when people say brusshhhhhetta instead of bruschetta)… it is important and as I mentioned, I can’t spell in any language. Thank God for spell check!:) and thanks for reading. Ciao – Joe

  10. rowena Says:

    Scila I can totally understand your concern for how an italian word is written–my husband is the same way whenever I make an error in spelling. I am just surprised that Esselunga (where I bought the soppressata) made such an obvious mistake! 😉

  11. homebody at heart Says:

    Joe,

    I’ve been corrected here for saying brus-chetta instead of bru-sheta! But, I usually just smile and just let it go.

  12. Proud Italian Cook Says:

    It dosen’t bother me at all how things are spelled here. The important thing is about this wonderful tradition you have here with your family.How lucky you are to be a part of this,soak everything up like a sponge and pass it on to your family.This memory will stay near and dear to your heart your whole life! Everything looks wonderful!

  13. Scila Says:

    Guys, let’s eat capocollo, capicolli, capicolla, kapikollah, sohpreessahtah or saltziccia…at the end of the day pig’s products r always delicious whatever one call them! 🙂
    Cheers from Tuscany!

  14. dario Says:

    Miiiiii! che fame!!!

  15. Anonymous Says:

    Nice article glad some of us are handing the tradition down to are kids. If anyone needs a great homemade recipe for sopressatta i have it from my Family from the old country. Frank Balestri Chicago Email Franise87@aol.com


Leave a comment